Art Pearls

My journey in search of pearls through painting and drawing

Lake Louise, Canada

with 4 comments

This is my first submission to Virtual Sketch Date. The reference photo is provided by Debbie Later. I modified my painting a bit from the reference photo. I felt that in reference photo the mountains seem to be dividing the composition exactly into two halves; so I moved it off-center. I felt like I have improved a bit in acrylic painting. Let us see how it would progress.

The panel is the same as the one I used in my previous painting titled “Reed maces”. Somehow I did not like that painting. I completely gessoed it over and reused the panel for this painting. Isn’t that great?!!

Lake Louise, Canada
12 x 16 inches on masonite panel
Reference photo by Debbie Later

Written by artpearls

February 25, 2009 at 3:35 am

Posted in acrylic, landscapes

Tagged with

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I too changed the composition…it’s all about making it your own. Great reuse of panel too!

    Rose Welty

    February 27, 2009 at 8:16 pm

  2. I like the vantage point you chose for your interpretation. I hadn’t thought of that. Good contrast in your color choices. Very nice work.

    gail

    March 1, 2009 at 7:59 pm

  3. Love the way you handled the mountains! They are very beautiful.

    Lynn

    March 1, 2009 at 8:02 pm

  4. I jazzed mine up too! Just had to make it feel more Me!

    Sherrie Roberts

    March 2, 2009 at 10:27 pm


Leave a Reply

