Art Pearls

My journey in search of pearls through painting and drawing

Portrait : Salma

with one comment

I took a long time to draw this portrait which explains the delay in posting. I still believe this portrait is not fully done and there is more room for improvement. If you study the image carefully you will know why. It is obvious that I may be trying to make it too realistic. One thing I have discovered is that the more time you spent on tinkering, the more realistic it becomes. The 7mm mechanical pencil which helped me a great deal in drawing the hair more realistically (compare it with the self portrait I did last time, where my hair looks more coarse).

Salma Hayek
Drawing on heavy weight acid-free paper using 7mm mechanical pencil
9×12 inches
August 2008
Portrait # 9

Written by artpearls

August 7, 2008 at 2:49 pm

Posted in drawings, pencil, portraiture

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wow…nice job…I really like the hair 🙂
    http://www.ratemydrawings.com/drawings/animals/309241.html
    I hope u like it 🙂

    Thanks zlatka! I am glad to know that you liked it. I checked your drawing; since I forgot my login/passwd I couldn’t leave a comment in your page. I just rated it for now; will visit your space again. Your husky is wonderful! It looks realistic especially the eye. You are good at this. Keep it up! – R

    Zlatka

    August 11, 2008 at 1:14 am


Leave a comment